Spellbinders Shadowbox Blog Hop

 

Blog-1800x1200

Hello friends!  Welcome to the Spellbinders Becca Feeken Shadowbox Blog Hop!  I am so happy you’re here!  You should have come from Hussena Calcuttawala‘s blog, and after me, you will go to Tina Smith‘s blog.

For my project I decided to make a shadowbox frame to highlight the cutest little baby footprint.  It’s my youngest daughter’s footprint, and she is now 2.  We moved into our new home about 6 months ago, and we haven’t done much decorating yet.  I was pulling out baby frames, and I was feeling nostalgic.

ahsangsbshadowbox2

You can find all the new Shadowbox dies by Becca Feeken here.  For my project, I used the Adjustable Shadowbox Frame with 3/4″ Border dies, Callista Rectangle Shadowbox Frame dies, and Flutter Wing Shadowbox Butterflies dies.

ahsangsbshadowbox1

I put together my frame using some aqua colored cardstock.  I made the frame to the size 4 x 4 inches.  Spellbinders has a tutorial on how to assembles the shadow box on their youtube channel here.  I tried making one with scraps of cardstock first, and I was all thumbs.  However, I got the hang of it on my second try.

I scanned the footprint, and in photoshop, I added the date.  I printed it out onto white cardstock, then I hand wrote her name.  I trimmed it to 4 x 4″, and I adhered it to the back of the frame using scortape.

ahsangsbshadowbox3

To add some interest, I die cut the 2 corner pieces from the Callista Rectrangle shadowbox frame dies twice, so that I had a total of 4 pieces.  I carefully tucked them into the corners between the frame and the footprint print, and added a little bit of liquid glue.  I also die cut the butterflies from the Flutter Wing Shadowbox butterflies dies with light pink cardstock, and glued them to the front of the frame.  I die cut the center body piece twice, and glued them on top of each other for more dimension.  I also made sure to fluff the wings for dimension.

ahsangsbshadowbox4

This project turned out so cute.  I love how it looks hanging in my office.  I just added a tiny command strip to the back to attach it to the wall.  Since it’s all made of paper, it doesn’t weigh much at all.

ahsangsbshadowbox5

Ok, now for the giveaway and blog hop details:

Giveaway:
To celebrate this release, Spellbinders is giving away a $50 gift certificate to 3 lucky blog readers – selected from the comments across all of the blogs in the hop. Giveaway closes on Sunday, February 10th 11:59 pm EDT. Winners will be announced in the Spellbinder’s blog hop post the following Monday. Winner is responsible for shipping cost, duties and taxes.

Blog hop order:

Spellbinders

Becca Feeken

Nichol Spohr

Hussena Calcuttawala

Jung AhSang  <—– You are here.

Tina Smith   **NEXT STOP

Lea Lawson

Desiree Kuemmerle

Dawn McVey

Olga Direktorenko

Gemma Campbell

Sandra Nagel

Jennifer Snyder

Jean Manis

Yana Smakula

I really hope you like my project, I know it makes me smile when I look at it!  Thanks for stopping by!

Happy Wednesday!

102 thoughts on “Spellbinders Shadowbox Blog Hop

  1. Lovely!! I never thought of scanning their newborn prints!! I’m sure this project is touch many of us in a wonderfully nostalgic way ~ I LOVE IT!!! I also love that you reassured us with your 1st attempt being kinda difficult!! (Maybe I really could do this!!)

    Like

Leave a comment