Cake Smash, featuring Hip Kit Club

Hello friends!  Today, I’m sharing a layout I created for the Hip Kit Club blog.  I was challenged to use only the January 2019 Main kit, as well as make a monochromatic layout.

I looked through the kits to look for a recurring color, and I chose pink.  I decided to get out my heart dies, and die cut hearts from the different pink pattern papers in the kit.  Layered, stitched heart embellishments are my favorite to make; you’ve seen me add them to my layouts many times before, and of course I had to add them to this layout as well.

I am documenting the “cake smash” for my daughter when she turned one.  As written in my journaling, she did not like getting her hands dirty, and there was no smashing, haha!  As I mentioned in a couple of previous blog posts, I am trying to check off my “to-scrap” list.  I really love this photo, and I’m so glad I finally got it scrapped!

ahsang HKC cakesmash 2

First, I decided to add some pink stripes to my layout.  I used the Vicki Boutin paint that we got in a previous color kit.  Once dry, I lined up some of the hearts that I die cut, and added some machine stitching.  I added a few hearts with foam squares, so I could create some dimension.  Next, I got out my border punches, and punched some strips from the pattern paper.  I also added some splatters (Shimmerz cotton candy, and Heidi Swapp gold color shine from previous color kits).

ahsang HKC cakesmash 4

I found a spot for my photo, and added some embellishments around it.  The flower, date tag, and phrase sticker are from the Pinkfresh Studio ephemera pack.  The bow is from the chipboard frames, and of course I added one of my layered hearts.

ahsang HKC cakesmash 5

Next, I decided to add my photo.  I have to admit that I cheated a little bit, because I wanted to stick to the pink monochromatic layout, and used the mini puffy alphas that were included in the November 2018 Project Life kit.  I added the word “smash” to a Pinkfresh Studio label.  I decided to make my own alphas for the “cake” part of my title, so I added some more of the Shimmerz cotton candy onto a scrap piece of white cardstock.  Once dry, I had drew the letters, then fussy cut them out, and I have to say, I really like the way it turned out!

ahsang HKC cakesmash 3

I added some journaling strips between the stripes and hearts.  I also added another layered heart, and a circle label, with the letter R, to the top of the layout.

ahsang HKC cakesmash 1

I really hope you love my project.  I am overjoyed with how it came out!

Happy Friday!

 

Leave a comment