STAMPtember: Holiday Banners card

Hey everyone!

I’ve got my very first holiday card to share with you!  You can also see my card on the Simon Says Stamp blog.

I was sent the Simon Says Stamp & Clearly Besotted collaboration stamp set called Holiday Banners, and I just had to get in the craft room to make a holiday card!  Also, SSS now has pre-cut, pre-scored 120 lb A2 sized card bases, and I absolutely love the convenience of these!

Here’s my shaker card:

ahsang SSS & CB 1

ahsang SSS & CB 2

From the stamp set, I used the snowflake stamp, the joyeux NOEL banner, and the circle snowflake stamp.

Here is a quick rundown of how I created this card.

  1. For the background, I repeatedly stamped the snowflake image from the set using Versamark ink on white card stock.  I added clear embossing powder, then heat set the snowflakes.
  2. Using the Tim Holtz ink blending tool, I blended distress inks in colors Salty Ocean, Tumbled Glass, and Shaded Lilac right on top of the snowflakes.  Since I heat embossed, the snowflakes resisted the ink.
  3. I took my Versamark ink pad and smooshed it straight onto my background piece.  Then, I added clear/glitter embossing powder on top, and heat set the entire piece.
  4. On another piece of card stock, I stamped the “joyeux NOEL” banner and the circle snowflake using Versamark ink.  I added Ranger Liquid Platinum embossing powder and heat set.
  5. Once cooled, I hand cut the banner.
  6. On another piece of white card stock, I die cut a frame using Simon Says Stamp Stitched Rectangle dies.
  7. I stamped the “bring on the magic” sentiment from Kelly Purkey’s Simply Magic stamp set (which is a Disney themed stamp set) with black ink.
  8. I assembled the shaker portion, filling it with Pretty Pink Posh sparkling clear sequins and Martha Stewart Iridescent Hearts Glitter, using acetate and a double layer of foam tape.
  9. I attached the shaker to a Simon Says Stamp pre-cut card base.
  10. Then, I added the banner on top with glue dots.
  11. To finish off my card, and to add even more sparkle, I added more sequins and some tiny gems to my card.

That’s it!  Hope you like my card!  Even though here in Texas, we are still experiencing temperatures in the high 90s, I hope you’re enjoying cooler temperatures where ever you are.  Less than 100 days till Christmas!  What?!

Happy Tuesday!

28 thoughts on “STAMPtember: Holiday Banners card

  1. BEAUTIFUL card!!!
    LOVE your GORGEOUS shaker window and your golden embossed banner is a DELIGHT, they look so lovely layered together!!!
    THANK YOU for sharing your RECIPE FOR AWESOMENESS 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment