100 days Korean baby tradition, and hello RUBY layout featuring My Mind’s Eye

Hello friends!

Today is Ruby’s 100th day, and oh what a whirlwind it has been!  Time sure does fly!

It is a Korean custom/tradition to celebrate a baby’s first 100 days, or “back-il.”  A long time ago, survival rates for babies were very low (due to childhood diseases, no easy access to healthcare, etc), so babies were kept at home for the first 100 days.  My parents told me that “back then,” baby’s births weren’t even recorded until they reached 100 days old.  Making it to 100 days signified that the baby would survive, so families celebrated with food, and baby was introduced to friends and neighbors.

It is a tradition to eat rice cakes for the 100th day, so we will eat rice cakes today!

Here is Miss Ruby on her 100th day:

ahsang-r-100-day

And here is all 3 of my girls on their 100th day:

girls-100-day

I also have a scrapbook layout to share.  Isn’t it fitting that on Ruby’s 100th day, I am sharing a layout featuring a photo of our family of 5 in the hospital on Ruby’s birthday?!

ahsang-mme-ruby-2ahsang-mme-ruby-3ahsang-mme-ruby-4

For this layout, I used the My Mind’s Eye’s Sugar Plum Collection.  Even though this line is a holiday collection, you can use a lot of the products on non-holiday layouts.  I love how this layout turned out, and I’m so glad that I have a layout for Ruby’s baby album!

Thanks for dropping by friends, and

Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

