Sea you soon card, featuring Mint Owl Studio

Hey guys!  How is your summer going so far?  Being in Texas, and half way through my pregnancy, all I can say is that I’m hot ALL. THE. TIME!  Ha!

Today, I’ve got a card featuring Mint Owl Studio’s Beach Babes & Best Finfriends stamp set.

It was also my first time playing with one of Ken Oliver Craft’s Color Bursts.  If you follow my instagram, you’ll see that things got a little bit messy, lol!  I had blue dye on my fingers all day (even after washing my hands at least 10 times).  I must have inhaled some as well, because I got blue when I had to sneeze or blow my nose (allergies), and when I went to wash my face that evening, I had some blue specs on my face & neck.  Regardless, I love the tie-dye effect the color burst gave to my under-the-sea card.

ahsang MOS sea 1ahsang MOS sea 2

Here’s how I created my card:

  1. I die cut a piece of watercolor paper with a stitched rectangle die.
  2. Using Versamark ink and clear embossing powder, I stamped and heat set the various images from the Beach Babes & Best Finfriends stamp sets in a diagonal pattern across my watercolor paper.
  3. I sprinkled some KO color burst in ultramarine blue over my stamped image, then sprayed my paper with water.  To distribute the color more, and to create a tie-dye look, I took a wet paper towel, and kind of smooshed the water and pigment around.
  4. I sprinkled more color burst, and sprayed with more water, until I was happy with how it looked.
  5. While the watercolor piece was drying, I stamped and heat set the sentiment from the Beach Babes stamp set on a piece of black cardstock with Versamark ink and white embossing powder.  I cut out the sentiment in a ribbon/fishtale.
  6. I attached the watercolor panel onto a white card base using craft foam for dimension.
  7. I attached the sentiment with some foam adhesive for even more dimension.
  8. To finish my card, I added some clear sequins from the Mint Owl Sequin mix, and some smaller clear sequins from my stash with some multi matte medium glue.

I hope you like how my card turned out!  I really like how it turned out!  I love this color of blue, and I love anything tie-dye!

You’ll find my card on the Mint Owl Studio blog today as well!

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

