Happy birthday Moose featuring Mint Owl Studio

Hey guys!  Today, I have a clean and “simple” card featuring Mint Owl Studio stamps.  I tried out a new technique that I’ve been meaning to try: no line coloring!  You can find my card on the Mint Owl Studio blog as well!

ahsang MOS moose birthday

First I stamped the moose image from the I Moose You stamp set with Tim Holtz scattered straw distress ink onto a piece of watercolor paper.  I stamped the heart balloon from the Some Bunny stamp set with candied apple distress ink.  Then, I colored the images using Zig clean color real brush pens.  I re-drew in the eyes, brows, and nostrils with a black pen.  Once dry, I fussy cut both the moose and the balloon.

I die cut a stitched rectangle from another piece of watercolor paper, and I watercolored a quick background using distress inks.  For the sky I used tumbled glass, and for the hill, I used a mixture of evergreen bough and mowed lawn.

For the sentiment, I put two sentiments together, masking off the portions I didn’t want stamped, from two different stamp sets.  The happy is from Happy Mail and the birthday is from I Moose You.  I used archival jet black ink.

I die cut another stitched rectangle out of a piece of red gingham patterned paper (sorry, I don’t know the brand, it was #happymail!) and adhered it to my card base.  I attached the watercolor background piece on top using fun foam.  Finally, I attached Mr. Moose and the red heart balloon using thin foam tape.  I drew in the balloon string with a black pen, and added glossy accents on top of the balloon.

I really like how my card turned out.  With the red gingham, the blue sky, and pretty green hill, doesn’t Mr. Moose look like he’s ready for a birthday picnic?!!!  As for my no line coloring, I could definitely use some practice, lol!  I sure will be practicing during the 30 day coloring challenge!

ahsang MOS moose birthday 2

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you stop by the Mint Owl Studio blog and shop!

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

