Share handmade kindness & tips for using My Favorite Things “closed” dies

Hey guys!  I’m here to share some handmade kindness.  If you haven’t heard about Jennifer McGuire’s Share Handmade Kindness Challenge, you can read about it here.

SHK-blog-badge

The challenge for week one is to send something handmade to family and/or friends.  Here is what I created for a friend who’s having a stressful week:

ahsang fall bouqet

I made this card using My Favorite Things Fall Florals stamp set and matching die-namics.  I also used Hero Arts Ombre Ink Pads in Light Ruby to Royal RedButter to Orangepink to red.  The sentiment is from Stampendous Bouquet for You stamp set.  I also used Simon Says Stamp stitched rectangle dies and the oval is from Avery Elle’s sweet scallops elle-ments die.  I finished things off with a twine bow and enamel dots!

I have a tip (in pictures) for you when using My Favorite Things die-namics “closed dies.”

ahsang mft dies how to

I believe with this particular company, you’re supposed to stamp the image after you die cut it first.  I like to stamp my image first, and then die cut my images.  I am not that great at lining up my stamps, so I had to figure out a way to make these dies work for me.  I had seen a few card makers cut the die out of cardstock to use as a template.  I was doing it that way too, but got tired of making that template every time I used the dies, and having to throw them away.  I decided that I needed something more sturdy.  I grabbed one of my daughter’s plastic folders brought home at the end of the previous school year, and die cut all the fall floral die-namics.  I cut a little slit in one side, so I could pull it away after fitting my die in place.  As long as you hold the die firmly in place, you should get a great lined up cut!  For storage, I put all my dienamic templates in a little ziplock bag, and labeled it at the top!  I hope that make sense.  If not my words, maybe my pictures will help you out!

Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you join in the share handmade kindness challenge!

Happy Thursday ya’ll!

4 thoughts on “Share handmade kindness & tips for using My Favorite Things “closed” dies

Leave a Reply

