Molotow masking pen & an owl card.

Hey all!

If you love card making like I do, chances are you know who Jennifer McGuire and Kristina Werner are.  Recently, both of these ladies have featured the Molotow masking pen on their videos.  Of course, I had to try it out for myself!  I have never tried liquid masking before; I’ve only used post it notes to mask off stamped images, so this was a first impression for sure!

I used Mama Elephant’s Charmed stamp set…my favorite Mama Elephant stamp set so far!  The moon is heavily inspired by Kathy Rac’s card.

Here is my card:

ahsang owl 1

First, I stamped my images on watercolor paper.  Then I masked off the edge of the moon (I traced a circle die with a pencil.) and branch.  I watercolored the night sky using Tim Holtz distress inks, making sure to avoid the middle where the owls are.  I sped up the drying process by using my heat gun.  Then I sprinkled perfect pearls mist for the stars.  I rubbed of the mask from the moon, and masked the edges of the owls.  I watercolored the moon with distress ink.  Once dry, I rubbed off the mask from the owls and branch, and watercolored them with distress inks.

ahsang owl 4

Here is a closer look.

ahsang owl 2

The masking pen did a pretty good job.  When rubbing off the mask, I ripped the paper a tiny bit on the branch and on one of the owl’s wings, but I just used a pen to fix it.

Even though this card started out as a one layer card, I couldn’t help popping up the panel with fun foam for some dimension.

My tips for using the Molotow masking pen:

  1. make sure to shake the pen well.
  2. use a thin layer
  3. make sure the mask is completely dry before rubbing off, and go slow!

Here is a quick picture of my supplies:

ahsang owl 3

Thanks for stopping by!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

