Days 1-4 of thedailymarker.com’s Pop Up Challenge

Hey everyone!

I’m here today, showing what I created for Kathy’s Pop Up Challenge at thedailymarker.com.

PopUp_logofinalV3

You can read all about it here.  The pop up challenge is over now, but she will be hosting her 3rd 30 day coloring challenge Oct 1 – Oct 30.  You can read more about the 30 day coloring challenge here.  As I’ve said before, I absolutely LOVE challenges!  They motivate and inspire me…even better when there’s a theme!

The theme of the 4 day pop up challenge was lines.

Here is my Day 1:

ahsang popcorn 1

For this challenge, I was inspired by patterned paper and background stamps, so I doodled some triangles, and colored with water colors.

Supplies:

Sharpie pen, mint green

Kuretake gansai tambi water color

Heidi Swapp gold color shine

Day 2:

ahsang popcorn 2

I created this card for my niece’s first birthday.  I was inspired by the lines Kathy created using stitched embossing dies.  Since I don’t have any, I thought of running my card stock through the sewing machine with no thread.  It worked out great!

Supplies:

Mama Elephant Charmed stamp set

Copic Markers

Simon Says Stamp tiny hearts stencil

Tim Holtz distress ink in colors: spun sugar & picked raspberry

Day 3:

ahsang popcorn 3

I didn’t have too much time on Day 3.  In fact, I started coloring this fish tank 1/2 an hour before midnight!  I was inspired by all the other participants’ blue watery, oceany waves, so I created mine in this fish tank.

Supplies:

Lawn Fawn Fintastic Friends stamp set

Sharpie pen

Copic markers

Sakura white gel pen

…and finally, Day 4:

ahsang popcorn 4

For this card, I wanted to try creating lines in a different way than my previous days.  I created the background stripes by scoring a piece of water color paper with my score board.  (It created the look of an embossing folder!)  Then, I water colored right on top, and love how it turned out!  Without this challenge, I might not have thought to try this “technique,” but I will for sure be using it again in the future!

Supplies:

Canson XL water color paper

Martha Stewart score board

Mama Elephant Playful Pups

Mama Elephant Landscape Trio dies

copic markers

Winnie & Walter The Party stamp set (balloon)

Tim Holtz distress ink in colors: tumbled glass, chipped sapphire, salty ocean, evergreen bough, mowed lawn, & pine needles.

That’s it!  I absolutely loved this pop up challenge!  I love that it had a theme, since it forced me to be more creative to change it up each day.  I also was able to participate all 4 days.

Happy Tuesday!!!

3 thoughts on “Days 1-4 of thedailymarker.com’s Pop Up Challenge

  1. Pingback: Thank You Starbucks fall cup card | jung ahsang

Leave a Reply

