Mame Elephant charmed card (x2)

Hey crafty friends!

Today I’m sharing with you two cards.

The first card is a card that I made for Mama Elephant’s “stamp with me” flickr challenge.  The theme for August is water coloring.  Here is the mama elephant blog post.

My second card is one that I made for Simon Says Stamp’s flickr challenge.  The theme is favorite technique.  I love shaker cards, and I have begun to love water coloring!  Here is the flickr discussion.

I love playing along in challenges!  They inspire and motivate me!  What about you?

I just purchased a Kuretake Gansai Tambi watercolor set. Can I just say that I’ve never used watercolors that are so incredibly buttery and pigmented?! Love them!!! I have slowly begun to love watercoloring after lots of practice, especially after my water color card blog post.

I also recently purchased Mama Elephant’s charmed clear stamp set and matching dies. I am hoping to get a lot of mileage out of this stamp set. I do newborn photography, and I like to include handmade cards along with my clients’ orders. This stamp set is perfect for that! I will also use the wreath for holiday cards as well. Win win!

The supplies I used will be posted at the bottom of this post.

Here is my first card, for a girl:

ahsang ME charmed 1

ahsang ME charmed 2

To create the window frame, I first cut out a piece of water color paper with a rectangle die.  Then I marked two lines to use as a guide for where I wanted to die cut a window using a small square die four times.  For the background, I used distress inks to create a soft sky.  I used foam tape to pop up the window panel to give my card dimension.

ahsang ME charmed 5

(Sorry about the horrible lighting iPhone pic)

Here’s my 2nd card, for a boy:

ahsang ME charmed 3

ahsang ME charmed 4

By leaving off the “girl” in the “HELLO, beautiful GIRL” sentiment, I was able to create a perfect sentiment for a boy card.  For this card, I wanted to make something a little different.  I used a stencil and a striped background stamp.  Then I decided to make this card a shaker…I do love shaker cards!

Supplies for the GIRL card:

*Mama Elephant charmed stamp set and matching dies

*Kuretake Gansai Tambi water color set

*Canson watercolor paper (140 lb)

*Neenah solar white card stock (80 lb)

*Versafine onyx black ink

*Simon Says Stamp stitched rectangle dies

*Spellbinders nestabilities square dies

*Tim Holtz distress inks in tumbled glass, chipped sapphire, and picked raspberries

*wink of stella clear glitter pen

*3M foam tape

Supplies for the BOY card:

*Mama Elephant charmed stamp set and matching dies

*Kuretake Gansai Tambi water color set

*Canson watercolor paper (140 lb)

*Neenah solar white card stock (80 lb)

*Versafine onyx black ink

*Simon Says Stamp stitched rectangle dies

*Simon Says Stamp 6×6 wide stripes stamp

*Simon Says Stamp hybrid mini ink in surf blue

*Simon Says Stamp falling snow stencil

*Mama Elephant ink in fresh mint

*wink of stella clear glitter pen

*Hot off the Press heat resistant acetate

*Pretty Pink Posh sequins in sparkling clear 6mm & 8mm

*Doodlebug Design sequins

*Martha Stewart Crafts Iridescent Hearts & Stars Glitter

*3M foam tape

…and that’s it!  Thanks for stopping by!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

