cards for my pen pals

Call me old fashioned, but I love me some happy mail, and I love the idea of pen pals!

When I was in elementary school, our entire class got assigned pen pals from different parts of the world.  I remember being so excited, wrote my letter, and sent it off in hopes of making a friend.  Days went by…weeks went by (which seems like eternity to a child), and still no letter.  I wasn’t the only one to get no reply, but a lot of my classmates did get a letter, and I remember feeling so disappointed.

Fast forward to the present:  Thanks to social media, Instagram to be specific, I have 4 new pen pals, and they’re crafty no less!  They are from Denmark, Germany, and good old Maryland.  New friends, if you’re reading my blog, “Hi ladies!”  Isn’t technology grand???  I don’t have any crafty friends “in real life,” so it’s nice to receive hand made cards!  I never thought I’d get new pen pals as an adult!

Here are the cards I made and sent to my new crafty friends:

ahsang penpal1

and here they are individually

ahsang penpal2 ahsang penpal5 ahsang penpal4 ahsang penpal3

Supplies used:

* Simon Says Stamp stitched rectangle dies

* Lawn Fawn love you a latte stamp set

* Hero Arts stamp & cuts thanks set (sentiment)

* Memento tuxedo black ink

* Copic markers (sorry, I don’t remember which colors I used)

* Doodlebug Design sequins

* Ranger glossy accents

* Tim Holtz distress ink in seedless preserves & picked raspberry (on the 1st individual card pictured)

* Hero Arts Ombre ink in mint to green (on the 2nd individual card pictured)

* K & Company heart puffy stickers (on the 2nd individual card pictured)

Since it was our first card exchange, and sending cards to other crafters can be slightly intimidating, I decided to keep it clean and simple, and a variation of the same card.  I hope the recipients love them as much as I loved making them.  Do you have any pen pal experiences?  Good?  Bad?

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

