DIY birthday…& a birthday layout…& a birthday shaker card too!

My oldest girl just turned 9, and we had a little celebration weekend for her.  She’s growing up, and she’s at that transitional age, where chuck-e-cheese and bouncy house parties just aren’t that appealing to her.  She has been wanting to watch the movie “Home,” and asked if she could invite a few girlfriends to watch it with us for her birthday.  We also celebrated her birthday with family on Sunday.

Here is a layout I did of her weekend celebration!

ahsang Lbday2

ahsang Lbday3

Since “Home” is such a new movie, we couldn’t find any decorations, either in stores or online.  At the very least, I wanted some cupcake toppers and maybe something to go in the gift bag.  DIY to the rescue.

Here’s an awesome tip:  If you’re having a movie-themed party, go to the movie’s website (in this case, Dreamworks), and there will most likely be printables & downloads available to you.

For the cupcake toppers, I  put together a page in photoshop with the image I wanted repeated on the entire page, and printed it on matte presentation paper.  Then I got my die-cutting tool out, and die cut the image using a circle die.  (I think sticker paper would be great, but I just used what I had on hand.)  I also got some purple card stock and cut more circles using a slightly bigger circle die.  I attached the image onto card stock using foam adhesive.  To put the cupcake topper together, I hot glued 2 of the finished circles back to back onto bamboo skewers/ long toothpicks.

ahsang Lbday4

ahsang Lbday8  ahsang Lbday1

For the gift bags, I printed some book marks that I found on the website (perfect since my daughter loves to read) on matte presentation paper.  I cut out the bookmarks and used a little wink of stella glitter pen to add a little “something something.”  My daughter also got into the DIY spirit by making popcorn bucket charms out of perler beads.

ahsang Lbday6  ahsang Lbday7

…And since I’ve been card making obsessed, I made a “Home” shaker card for her birthday.

ahsang Lbday5

My daughter loved every thing, and I was more that happy to get a little creative for her birthday.  Let me know if you have any questions!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

