fall photographer: pumpkins, costumes, and gorgeous fall light with my girls

I cannot believe that Halloween is tomorrow!  Where does the time go?!

We finally made it to the pumpkin patch this past weekend.  I took the big camera and got some good shots!

ahsang fall 4

Gah!  That sunflare!  My beautiful girls!  I love it!

ahsang fall 2 ahsang fall 3

Even though it was a super hot day, they had an awesome time!  We got them tickets for the corn maze, pumpkin painting, sand art, and a horse ride.  We all devoured homemade strawberry lemonade!  Saturday awesomeness!

The girls had several opportunities to wear their costumes already.  They got to wear them to fall night at a friend’s school last Friday night, and they got to wear them to their dance classes all this week.

ahsang fall 1

I got lucky and didn’t have to spend too much money on costumes this year!  Whew!

Lola wanted to be a cowgirl this year.  She has been obsessed with boots and horses ever since horse camp this summer.

All I had to buy was the hat and the kerchief. I found the hat at the Halloween store fore about $12 and the kerchief was less than $1 from Wal-Mart.  The dress is one that I had bought several years ago from Forever 21 kids.  The boots are hand-me-downs from a friend.

ahsang fall L

Ellie has changed her mind several times this month!  First, she wanted to be Elsa, and then a bumble bee, but when she saw the Jasmine costume hanging in her older sister’s closet, she had to be Jasmine.  For dance class, last minute, she told me she wanted to be something else.  We looked in older sister’s closet again, and spotted the long-forgotten strawberry costume that I handmade maybe 6 years ago.  She tried it on and couldn’t be cuter!  She also told me already that she wants to trick-or-treat as a strawberry.

ahsang fall E

The girls love their costumes, and I’m so glad that I didn’t have to either a) spend $50+ dollars on a costume, or b) spend hours making one this year!  I probably won’t get this lucky next year, so I’m enjoying it for now!

Are y’all ready for Halloween?  Any traditions?  Every year, we carve our pumpkins the night before Halloween, and then we go trick-or-treating as a big group around our neighborhood & then get Rudy’s bar-b-que afterwards on Halloween night.

Have a safe Halloween, and happy Thursday!

2 thoughts on “fall photographer: pumpkins, costumes, and gorgeous fall light with my girls

Leave a Reply

