finished: quilt.

I finally finished up my throw quilt, and I love how it turned out!

ja quilt 4

I have sewn only a few quilts before: a baby quilt for Lola & Ellie, a twin sized quilt for Lola,

JA quilt collage old

and a few baby quilts for friends.

This time, I wanted to make a quilt for myself!  After looking on pinterest, I found a triangle quilt that I liked.  Here is the link:  http://seekatesew.com/modern-ombre-bw-triangle-quilt-tutorial-pattern/

Here are some general steps that I took:

1. decide on a quilt pattern, gather supplies & pick your fabric (I got all my fabric from either JoAnn’s or Hobby Lobby)

2.  cut fabric freehand with a ruler or using a template

3. sew rows first, iron the seams (I chose to iron them open), then sew the rows together, again ironing the seams.

4. lay down your backing fabric (I used a flat bed sheet I had that I wasn’t using), then batting, and then your quilt top on top, smoothing out any lumps and wrinkles.

5. pin all the layers together and sew your quilt together.

7. create your binding (you can use store-bought binding, but they usually come in solid colors only)

8. sew the binding on, and done!

JA quilt collage

Here is a link to a step by step tutorial that I discovered a few years ago that really helped me out:  http://www2.fiskars.com/Sewing-Quilting/Projects/Tools-and-Techniques/Sewing-for-Beginners/How-to-Quilt#.VByCURaJktU

I am by no means an expert, but my quilts are getting better with each one I make!  Love how this one turned out, and how it matches the other colors in my living room.

Happy friday friends!

4 thoughts on “finished: quilt.

  1. Pingback: baby quilt for girl #3 | jung ahsang

Leave a Reply

